About us

In a few words...

family-vineyards

Who are we?

Since 2003, Le Vieux Monastère has been welcoming holidaymakers from the hands of Graham and Christine Dove, who have been able to offer them a memorable experience.


But since 2021, it’s our turn to offer you a dream vacation in the middle of the French countryside.

Where are we ?

LVM is located between La Rochelle, Ile de Ré and Cognac, and close to the historic cities of Saintes and St Jean d'Angély.

Our guests love us

"Very good stay in an exceptional domain, with a lot of charm and cachet"

Alexandra France

Excellent hosts, superb accommodation, beautiful countryside and places to visit. Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

John Surrey UK

We look forward to returning in the summer to enjoy the beautiful pool and grounds.

Sandra Switzerland

Have unforgettable holidays

Surrounded by vineyards and fields, Le Vieux Monastère is a group of seven independent and intimate cottages, ideal for family vacations.

Have unforgettable holidays

vue-drone-ensemble-du-site

A piece of history Saint-Martin-de-Cerzay

Excerpt from the book Châteaux Manoirs et Logis by Mr. Frédéric Chasseboeuf

“Saint-Martin-de-Cerzay was the seat of a micro-commune and a fief belonging around 1540 to Pierre Brun and his wife Jacquette de Cumont. A little later, their eldest daughter Marguerite, Dame des Salles, married first Charles Horric and then Louis Moreau, Lord of Panloy, who acquired the neighboring fief of Lesbaupinière in 1565.

The latter's daughter, Catherine,

widow of Jean Boisseau, lord of Pouzou and Vervant*, succeeded in getting the land of Laléard around 1630, which she transmitted with the house of Saint-Martin-de-Cerzay to her daughter Jeanne, widow of Gabriel de Goulard. From this time on, and during a long period, the house is progressively reduced to the state of a farm, in favor of the castle of Laléard.

Isolated in the middle of the fields,

Like the parish church it accompanies, the house is built inside a vast courtyard delimited on three sides by outbuildings and on the north by a large wall. Oriented east-west, it is a small rectangular building with a first floor dating from the 16th century.

According to a proven principle,

It was originally served by a staircase contained in a cylindrical tower that leans on the eastern facade. It has long since lost the slate-covered pepperpot that was to crown it and mark the nobility of the place.”

Now it's time to discover our cottages